يمكن كوب من الشاي الساخن يوم مساعدة الحفاظ على البصر؟

Published: Wednesday 17 January, 2018

وجود كوب من الشاي الساخن كل يوم قد يقلل من خطر العمى.

وقد وجد الباحثون أن كوبا يوميا من الشاي الساخن يقلل من خطر الإصابة بالزرق، وهو مرض يمكن أن يتسبب فيه تراكم السوائل في العين في تلف العصب البصري ويؤدي إلى فقدان البصر التدريجي.

تضمنت الدراسة، في المجلة البريطانية لطب العيون، 1،678 مشاركا في مسح صحي وطني أكبر. وباستخدام صور القرص البصري وتقنيات التشخيص الأخرى، سجلوا حالات زرق في عامي 2005 و 2006، وربطوا مع تقارير استهلاك المشروبات عن العام السابق.

وبعد ضبط العمر، ومؤشر كتلة الجسم، والجنس، والانتماء الإثني، والتدخين، ومرض السكري، وجدوا أن الأشخاص الذين شربوا على الأقل كوب من الشاي الساخن يوميا كانوا أقل بنسبة 74 في المائة من احتمال الإصابة بالزرق. وجدوا عدم وجود ارتباط مع المشروبات الغازية والشاي المثلج والشاي منزوع الكافيين أو مع القهوة، منزوعة الكافيين أم لا.

هذه الدراسة الرصدية لا تثبت السببية، ولكن الباحثين يكتبون أن الشاي يحتوي على المواد الكيميائية النباتية والفلافونويدات مع خصائص مضادة للالتهابات التي قد تحمي العصب البصري.

"إذا كنت تشرب الشاي الساخن، والحفاظ على القيام بذلك"، وقال المؤلف الرئيسي الدكتور آن ل. كولمان، أستاذ طب العيون في جامعة كاليفورنيا، لوس انجليس. "لكنني لن أبدله إذا كنت تفضل شيئا آخر. هذه نتيجة أولية، ونحن بحاجة إلى إجراء المزيد من الدراسات ".

Can a Cup of Hot Tea a Day Help Preserve Eyesight?

Published: Wednesday 17 January, 2018

Having a cup of hot tea every day may reduce your risk for blindness.

Researchers have found that a daily cup of hot tea reduces the risk for glaucoma, a disease in which a buildup of fluid in the eye can damage the optic nerve and lead to gradual vision loss.

The study, in the British Journal of Ophthalmology, included 1,678 participants in a larger national health survey. Using photographs of the optic disc and other diagnostic techniques, they recorded instances of glaucoma in 2005 and 2006, and correlated them with reports of beverage consumption over the previous year.

After adjusting for age, body mass index, sex, ethnicity, smoking and diabetes, they found that people who drank at least a cup of hot tea a day were 74 percent less likely to have glaucoma. They found no association with soft drinks, iced tea, decaffeinated tea or with coffee, decaffeinated or not.

This observational study does not prove causality, but the researchers write that tea contains phytochemicals and flavonoids with anti-inflammatory properties that may protect the optic nerve.

“If you drink hot tea, keep on doing it,” said the senior author, Dr. Anne L. Coleman, a professor of ophthalmology at the University of California, Los Angeles. “But I wouldnt switch to it if you prefer something else. This is a preliminary finding, and we need to do more studies.”