一杯熱茶能幫助保持視力嗎?

出版: 2018年01月17日

每天喝一杯熱茶可能會降低失明的風險。

研究人員發現,每天喝一杯熱茶可以降低青光眼的風險,青光眼是一種眼內積液會損傷視神經並導致視力逐漸喪失的疾病。

這項研究在“英國眼科學雜誌”(British Journal of Ophthalmology)中納入了1678名參加全國大型健康調查的參與者。他們利用視盤照片和其他診斷技術記錄2005年和2006年的青光眼病例,並將其與前一年的飲料消費報告相關聯。

調整了年齡,體重指數,性別,種族,吸煙和糖尿病之後,他們發現每天至少喝一杯熱茶的人比青光眼少74%。他們發現與軟飲料,冰茶,不含咖啡因的茶或無咖啡因的咖啡無關。

這項觀察性研究並不能證明因果關係,但研究人員寫道,茶中含有植物化學物質和類黃酮,具有抗炎特性,可保護視神經。

資深作者,加利福尼亞大學洛杉磯分校眼科教授Anne L. Coleman博士說:“如果你喝熱茶,就繼續喝下去。” “但是如果你更喜歡別的東西,我不會改變它。這是一個初步的發現,我們需要做更多的研究。“

Can a Cup of Hot Tea a Day Help Preserve Eyesight?

Published: Wednesday 17 January, 2018

Having a cup of hot tea every day may reduce your risk for blindness.

Researchers have found that a daily cup of hot tea reduces the risk for glaucoma, a disease in which a buildup of fluid in the eye can damage the optic nerve and lead to gradual vision loss.

The study, in the British Journal of Ophthalmology, included 1,678 participants in a larger national health survey. Using photographs of the optic disc and other diagnostic techniques, they recorded instances of glaucoma in 2005 and 2006, and correlated them with reports of beverage consumption over the previous year.

After adjusting for age, body mass index, sex, ethnicity, smoking and diabetes, they found that people who drank at least a cup of hot tea a day were 74 percent less likely to have glaucoma. They found no association with soft drinks, iced tea, decaffeinated tea or with coffee, decaffeinated or not.

This observational study does not prove causality, but the researchers write that tea contains phytochemicals and flavonoids with anti-inflammatory properties that may protect the optic nerve.

“If you drink hot tea, keep on doing it,” said the senior author, Dr. Anne L. Coleman, a professor of ophthalmology at the University of California, Los Angeles. “But I wouldnt switch to it if you prefer something else. This is a preliminary finding, and we need to do more studies.”